The Northern Ireland Bureau and Norman Houston by Ben Mallon WIP 2012

The opportunity to intern in the Northern Ireland Bureau was one which I couldn’t let pass. When I received notification that I would be interning in the Bureau I was incredibly pleased. As an individual has a keen interest in government affairs and the importance of selling Northern Ireland to a global market, I knew that the Northern Ireland Bureau was an ideal internship.Throughout my time at the Bureau I was made to feel part of the staff team rather than just being ‘the intern’! It was this that made my experiences at the Bureau so memorable. The entire staff team of Norman, Aidan, Tony, Tracy, Bronagh and Lorraine made me feel very welcome immediately. Throughout the internship, I was set a variety of tasks ranging from filing to reading and editing reports for the Office of the First and deputy First Minister. A personal highlight of mine was speaking at the NI Bureau Luncheon and also planning the NI Bureau Washington Ireland Program Farewell event.

My personal thanks must go to the NI Bureau Director, Norman Houston for the fantastic opportunity and experience of working alongside him. Additionally, the Class of 2012 would like to thank Norman for his continued support of the Washington Ireland Program.

